Meet the Underdogs: Cindylicious

Cynthia Walpole Doe

Cindylicious Clothing and Jewelry
Eugene, OR

Who are you? (We really wanna know)
I am an artist of many mediums: a seamstress, a metalsmith, a painter, a potter, a poet, and a mother.

What do you do?
I recycle fabric, in the form of restyling second hand clothing into new artful creations. I also recycle metal, turning an old piece of metal into wearable art.

What is your inspiration? (Why do you create?)
I am compelled to create by some inner sense that tells me I need to make beautiful things! I am inspired by nature, color, humanity, and hope.

How do you do what you do when you do what you do?
I find myself sewing at very odd hours sometimes! I have two part time jobs that take up three nights a week, I work in the afternoons on those days and usually end up sewing the other four nights. I work whenever I can!

Your magic moment?
That last seam on a sweater that magically pulls it all together, then putting it on and realizing that I created a piece of beauty!

Walk us through your day of awesomeness
Coffee, etsy and facebook is how I begin! I then get my personal business seen to, errands, housecleaning, etc. Then I go to work!

In five years, where would you like to be?
Making a living from my art on my farm! (Which I don’t have yet but hope to in five years!)

Apart from creating things, what do you do?
I bartend part time and I run a karaoke show two nights a week. I am a mother of two adult kids and one teenager.

What advice would you give to those of the like-mind?
Do what you love! Let it consume you like you want to, rather than what your monetary gain will be.

Your Top 5 Haunts in Portland
I don’t get up there much so I don’t have any haunts…some places I would like to check out would be OMSI, The Portland Saturday Market, and the new Crafty Underdog Shop!

Your Top 5 Songs to get you through a life?
Close to you – The Cure
Enjoy the silence – Depeche Mode
Cities in Dust – Siousxie and the Banshees
Nothing to Fear – Oingo Boingo
Fearless – Pink Floyd

Your Top 5 Movies
Joe Dirt
Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Beetlejuice
Pretty in Pink




About LGA CREATES

Whether you are an artist, real estate professional, restaurateur, or band; LGA will cater to the size of your business with affordable options, superior design, and effective copy. LGA is founded upon the shoulders of small business owners, entrepreneurs, and magnificent risk takers. We heart your business with unique and progressive tools resigned to a simple and profound commitment; You!!
This entry was posted in Meet the Underdogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment