Meet the Underdogs: Mary Bouma of MairWear

MARY BOUMA MAIRWEAR

MARY BOUMA MAIRWEAR

Mary Bouma

MairWear

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who are you? (We really wanna know)
I am a mother, wife, friend, daughter, crafty creator, designer, singer, knitter, crocheter. I live to have fun and laugh. I like to wear glittery make up and get funky with my styles.

What do you do?
I design and hand-crochet beanie hats and hair accessories.

What is your inspiration? (Why do you create?)
I create for the customer who puts on one of my hats and something lights up in their eyes. I want to make people feel more beautiful, more comfortable, more out of the box, more… themselves!

How do you do what you do when you do what you do?
I take some yarn and a crochet hook… and get crazy!

Your magic moment?
When I talk to other people about what I do. They get excited and then they start giving me ideas for new designs. It’s magic!

Walk us through your day of awesomeness
Wake up and get my oldest kid to school. Come home and check email/facebook/etsy. Create, design or promote MairWear through the day while taking care of my other 2 little boys. Have family dinner, get kids to bed, then hang out with my husband while knitting or crocheting.

In five years, where would you like to be?
Settled in a house than I own, doing what I love and living life with my amazing friends and family.

Apart from creating things, what do you do?
Is there anything apart from creating things?

What advice would you give to those of the like-mind?
Make every effort to do what you love to do. Take baby steps to get where you want to go. If you don’t like the direction your life is headed in, you can CHANGE it! Take risks and believe in yourself!

Your Top 5 Haunts in Portland
St. Johns A good pub A tasty restaurant Craft Fairs Any yarn shop I can find

Your Top 5 Songs to get you through a life?
“Fix You” by Coldplay “Trouble” by Ray LaMontagne “A Case of You” sung by Jane Monheit “Beautiful” by Christina Aguilera Pretty much anything by Jason Mraz


Check out the radness of MairWear online at http://www.etsy.com/shop/mairwear


About LGA CREATES

Whether you are an artist, real estate professional, restaurateur, or band; LGA will cater to the size of your business with affordable options, superior design, and effective copy. LGA is founded upon the shoulders of small business owners, entrepreneurs, and magnificent risk takers. We heart your business with unique and progressive tools resigned to a simple and profound commitment; You!!
This entry was posted in Meet the Underdogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

