Meet the Underdogs: Mary Gilgenbach

http://www.auntadeleinesvintage.com/Meet the beauty behind Aunt Adeleine’s Vintage, Mary Gilgenbach.

Who are you? (We really wanna know)
I am a farm girl from the Midwest, now a middle age socially liberal, fiscally responsible. Goddess of my little slice of life with hubby, kids, and pets.

What do you do?
I am thankful to be able to live a more creative, artful and inspired life. I have carved out a “mom cave” in my home for a studio. And have been collecting vintage goodness for some time.

What is your inspiration? (Why do you create?)
My inspiration right now is accidental found objects; keys, fishing tackle, watches,compasses,hinges, drawer pulls, did I mention keys; that are rusty and crusty with age ready to be paired with pearls and rhinestones.

How do you do what you do when you do what you do?
My creativity happens organically, never forced always spur of the moment and usually frenetic.

Your magic moment?
Accidental discovery and re-discovery of my Great Aunt Adeleine’s button collection.

Walk us through your day of awesomeness
Slow start, lots of coffee, dogs, kids, nice long walk in forest next door, then I start to organize and clean my studio and BAM!!!

In five years, where would you like to be?
In five years I would like to be working smarter.

 Apart from creating things, what do you do?
I try to keep the wheels on the family household.

What advice would you give to those of the like-mind?
Create everyday. And keep busy; the busier I am the more productive I get. Network with every artist, creative, or free thinking person you meet and have a conversation.

Your Top 5 Haunts in Portland
Edgefield McMenamins, The Leakey Roof, El Gaucho, Beast and VooDoo Donuts. What can I say I love to eat and drink.

Your Top 5 Songs to get you through a life?
Anything by the Beatles.

Your Top 5 Movies
Mary Poppins, Gone With The Wind, The Big Chill, The First Star Wars Movie, Slum Dog Millionaire

check out Mary’s amazing work at http://www.auntadeleinesvintage.com/
 

About LGA CREATES

Whether you are an artist, real estate professional, restaurateur, or band; LGA will cater to the size of your business with affordable options, superior design, and effective copy. LGA is founded upon the shoulders of small business owners, entrepreneurs, and magnificent risk takers. We heart your business with unique and progressive tools resigned to a simple and profound commitment; You!!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Meet the Underdogs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

